Frequently Asked Questions

Home/Frequently Asked Questions
Frequently Asked Questions2019-07-10T10:30:46-05:00
Where can I buy a gun?2019-04-22T16:12:55-05:00

You can go to your local gun shop (FFL) to purchase a gun. You can purchase a gun outside of your home state, but the gun must be shipped to a gun shop (FFL) within your own state before you can pick it up.

If I just moved to Maryland, do I have to register my handguns?2019-01-23T14:10:50-05:00

You have 90 days to register your handguns or regulated firearms once moving into Maryland. You can register your regulated firearms at your local FFL, gunshop.

If I already own a handgun, do I have to do the training to get a Handgun Qualification License?2019-01-23T14:15:11-05:00

If you have had a legally owned handgun before October 1, 2013, you are training exempt and do not need to take the class to apply for your Handgun Qualification License (HQL). However, you will still be required to get your fingerprints taken as well as apply for your Handgun Qualification License online at www.MDSP.org

How will a firearms dealer know that I have a Handgun Qualification License?2019-01-23T14:31:36-05:00

Once you have received your Handgun Qualification License (HQL) in the mail, you will bring the HQL card with you to the dealer.

How old do I have to be to buy a gun?2019-04-22T12:00:42-05:00

Federal Law says you must be 21 years old to purchase a handgun or any regulated firearm. You must be 18 years old to purchase a long gun or rifle in Maryland.

How does a new resident register a regulated firearm?2019-01-23T14:17:19-05:00

A new Maryland resident has 90 days to register their handguns and can register their firearms at their local gun shop (FFL).

How do I travel to the range with my handgun in Maryland?2019-04-22T15:23:08-05:00

When traveling to the range with a handgun in Maryland, the gun must be in a case and must be separated from the ammunition with the magazines empty. You may only drive to and from the range. You cannot stop for gas, food, to purchase ammo, or even to pick up a friend on the way.

How do I get a Maryland Wear and Carry Permit?2019-01-23T14:21:36-05:00

In order to get a Maryland Wear and Carry permit, you must take 16-hour Maryland Wear and Carry course with a Maryland State police Qualified Handgun Instructor which includes a shooting qualification. Then, you will get your fingerprints taken and apply. You will have a background check and a personal interview with a State Police Officer. If you are “not disapproved”, you will receive your Maryland Wear and Carry License in the mail.

How do I get a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit?2019-01-23T14:20:48-05:00

In order to get a Maryland Wear and Carry permit, you must take 16-hour Maryland Wear and Carry course with a Maryland State police Qualified Handgun Instructor which includes a shooting qualification. Then, you will get your fingerprints taken and apply. You will have a background check and a personal interview with a State Police Officer. If you are “not disapproved”, you will receive your Maryland Wear and Carry License in the mail.

How do I get a Handgun Qualification License?2019-01-23T14:27:08-05:00

In order to get a Handgun Qualification License (HQL), you must take an HQL course with a Maryland State police Qualified Handgun Instructor, get your fingerprints taken, and then apply through the Maryland State Police Website. You will receive your HQL through the mail which will look similar to a driver license.

How do I buy a Handgun in Maryland?2019-01-23T14:27:19-05:00

In order to buy a handgun in the state of Maryland, you must get a Handgun Qualification License (HQL) before going to any gun shop. This will require that you take an HQL course with a Maryland State police Qualified Handgun Instructor, get your fingerprints taken, and then apply through the Maryland State Police Website. You will receive your HQL through the mail which will look similar to a driver license. Once you have your HQL, you will return to the State Police website to fill out the 77R background check. Bring your HQL, Drivers License, and 77R to the gun shop for your purchase.

How do I apply for a Handgun Qualification License?2019-01-23T14:26:47-05:00

In order to apply for your Handgun Qualification License (HQL), you must take an HQL course with a Maryland State police Qualified Handgun Instructor, get your fingerprints taken, and then apply through the Maryland State Police Website.

How can I prove I legally owned a handgun before October 1, 2013, and am therefore exempt from the training requirement to get my Handgun Qualification License?2019-01-23T14:13:26-05:00

When applying online for your Handgun Qualification License (HQL), you will be asked for the serial number of your legally owned handgun. Upon providing that serial number you will have met your obligation.

Does someone who is active in the military need a Handgun Qualification License to buy a handgun?2019-01-23T14:25:28-05:00

Someone who is active in the military does not need a Handgun Qualification License (HQL) to buy a handgun. They just need to bring their military ID as well as their license to their FFL (gunshop) to buy a handgun.

Does a Military Veteran need a Handgun Qualification License to buy a handgun?2019-01-23T14:26:23-05:00

A military veteran still needs a Handgun Qualification License (HQL) in order to buy a handgun, but they do not need the classroom training a normal citizen would require. Veterans can click training exempt and input their DD-214 when applying for their HQL on the Maryland State Police Website.

Can I Travel With A Gun In My Car?2019-04-22T11:46:02-05:00

Unfortunately, it depends on where you will be traveling to and what kind of gun you are looking to travel with. There is Interstate Transport (between states), Intrastate Transport (within Maryland).

During Interstate Transport, when you cross state lines, the gun has to be unloaded, locked in a case, in separate parts of the car from the ammunition. When traveling Interstate with your gun, you may stop for food, lodging, or temporary domicile of at least one day. While you are in a state, you must adhere to that state’s gun laws. Check the state’s gun laws before you travel.

During Intrastate Transport, when traveling within Maryland, it depends on what kind of gun you are traveling with. For a Long Gun or Rifle, you should keep it separate from ammunition with the magazines unloaded. For a HandGun, you should keep it separate from ammunition with the magazines unloaded, but you can only travel to and from your place of business, to and from a gun shop, to and from a gunsmith, to and from a formal or informal shooting event, or to and from dog obedience training. You may not stop for any reason.

Can I openly carry a handgun in Maryland?2019-04-22T15:11:12-05:00

No, a citizen cannot publicly open carry in Maryland unless you have obtained a Maryland Wear and Carry License for Security Officers. You may, however, openly carry a handgun on your own property.

Can I Open Carry In Maryland?2019-04-22T15:13:14-05:00

No, a citizen cannot publicly open carry in Maryland unless you have obtained a Maryland Wear and Carry License for Security Officers. You may, however, openly carry a handgun on your own property. By the letter of the law, you can publically open carry a rifle in Maryland, but we strongly suggest that you don’t. Open carrying a rifle was allowed so people don’t get harassed while walking into the woods to go hunting.

Can I get a Maryland Concealed Carry Permit?2019-01-23T14:24:23-05:00

Yes, Maryland has a “Maryland Wear and Carry” permit that allows citizens to conceal and carry and handgun or pistol.

Upcoming Classes

Maryland Wear and Carry

December 14 @ 9:00 AM - December 15 @ 5:00 PM

Delaware CCDW + Utah CFP

December 15 @ 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

MD CCW Renewal

December 15 @ 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Maryland HQL + Utah CFP + Florida CWP

January 4, 2020 @ 9:00 AM - 3:30 PM